Long Island Congressmen Vote Election Denier Mike Johnson for House Speaker

Rep. Mike Johnson (R-Louisiana), who voted against certifying Joe Biden’s victory over Donald Trump in the 2020 presidential election, was elected Speaker of the House on Wednesday.

Reps. Andrew Garbarino, Nick LaLota, Anthony D’Esposito, and George Santos, all Republicans from Long Island, voted for Johnson’s speakership.

The first three had voted for former Rep. Lee Zeldin on previous ballots, when Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio) was running for speaker.