Town of Smithtown 2023 Election Roundup

The Town of Smithtown, similar to the Town of Huntington, does not have a Town Supervisor race this year — but there are still important elections in November.

The Town of Smithtown encompasses much of north-central Suffolk County.

Villages in Smithtown include Head of the Harbor, Nissequogue, and the Village of the Branch.

Hamlets in Smithtown include Kings Park, Nesconset, St. James, and, of course, the hamlet of Smithtown.

It also includes parts of Commack and Fort Salonga, with other parts of those places being in the Town of Huntington.

It also shares Lake Ronkonkoma with both the Town of Islip and the Town of Brookhaven.

Here are the candidates running for election in the Town of Smithtown.

Town of Smithtown Town Clerk Race


William G. Holst: Democratic, Working Families

Thomas D. McCarthy: Republican, Conservative

Town of Smithtown Receiver of Taxes Race


Amy L. Fortunato: Democratic, Working Families

Deanna Varricchio (incumbent): Republican, Conservative

Town of Smithtown Town Council Race

Vote For Two (2) Candidates:

Maria C. Scheuring: Democratic, Working Families

Sarah E. Tully: Democratic, Working Families

Lisa M. Inzerillo (incumbent): Republican, Conservative

Thomas Lohmann (incumbent): Republican, Conservative

Smithtown 2
Parts of Lake Ronkonkoma are in the Town of Smithtown. (Long Island Press)

For coverage of other Long Island town elections, see the links below.