Assembly Districts

District Assembly

What is the Assembly?

The Assembly passes bills that affect people throughout the state of New York.

The current Speaker of the Assembly is Carl E. Heastie. The Speaker makes all the committee assignments and appoints and directs the work of most of the Assembly staff.

The Assembly meets in Albany every year for a legislative session.

Who’s Your Assembly Leader?

The Assembly is part of the New York State Legislature. The Assembly has 150 members, who represent 150 different parts of New York State. These areas are called districts. If you are concerned about any sociopolitical issue within your district, your District Assembly member is the person to contact.

The Borough of Brooklyn is divided in to 20 Assembly Districts. Find out who your District Assembly member here.

City Council:
State Senators:

More from Around New York