Dispute erupts over NYC Districting Commission’s plan to leave City Council District 8 split


After the NYC Districting Commission released its proposed redistricting maps in mid-July, disagreement brewed among Bronx community leaders. Advocates were troubled by the decision to keep the boundary of District 8 split. It’s one of only two NYC districts that stretches across boroughs — there are 51 council districts in all.

The northern Manhattan/South Bronx District 8, separated by the Harlem River, includes East Harlem, Mott Haven and Port Morris, as well as portions of Highbridge, Concourse, Longwood and also Randall’s Island.

More from Around New York