NYC schools chancellor narrows down cabinet picks, makes subtle changes to legislation


David C. Banks, New York City’s School Chancellor with the Department of Education (DOE) announced that he had selected his picks for the department’s cabinet members – reducing the group from 15 to seven individuals. 

On Jan. 18, Banks named the members of the DOE’s senior leadership team which comprised of Daniel Weisberg as First Deputy Chancellor; Dr. Kara Ahmed as Deputy Chancellor of Early Childhood Education; Savita Bharadwa as Chief of Staff to the Chancellor; Dr. Desmond Blackburn as Deputy Chancellor of School Leadership; Kenita D. Lloyd as Deputy Chancellor of Family and Community Engagement and External Affairs; and Carolyne V. Quintana as Deputy Chancellor of Teaching and Learning Opportunities.