2016 General Election Guide


In New York City, polls will be open from 6 a.m.-9 p.m. on November 8, Election Day.

If you are uncertain of your election district or polling place, you can find out where to go to cast your ballot by going to https://nyc.pollsitelocator.com/search, which also will tell you what your Congressional, State Senate, City Council and Assembly districts are.

Besides the Presidential election between Democrat Hillary Clinton and Republican Donald Trump below is the list of Brooklyn candidates for Congress, state senate, assembly and judicial seats:


  • 7th C.D. (includes Sunset Park, Boro Park) – Incumbent Democrat Nydia Velazquez (who also has the Women’s Equality Party line) v. Republican/Conservative Allan Romaguera.
  • 8th C.D. (Central Brooklyn, Coney Island) Incumbent Democrat Hakeem Jeffries v. Conservative Daniel Cavanagh
  • 9th C.D. (Crown Heights, Flatbush, Sheepshead Bay) Incumbent Democrat Yvette Clarke v. Conservative Alan Bellone
  • 10th C.D. (includes Sunset Park, Bensonhurst, Dyker Heights and Gravesend) – Incumbent Democrat Jerrold Nadler (who also has the Working Families and Women’s Equality Party lines) v. Republican/Conservative Philip Rosenthal (who also has the Independence and Stop the Iran Deal Party lines)
  • 11th C.D. (includes Bay Ridge, Dyker Heights, Bensonhurst, Gravesend and Sheepshead Bay) – Incumbent Republican/Conservative Dan Donovan (who also has the Independence and Reform Party lines) v. Democrat Richard Reichard and Green Party candidate Henry Bardel


  • 17th S.D. (Midwood, Flatbush, Borough Park, Kensington, Sunset Park, Madison and Bensonhurst) – Incumbent Sen. Simcha Felder is running on the Democratic, Republican and Conservative Party lines unoppossed
  • 18th S.D. (Bushwick, Williamsburg, Greenpoint, Cypress Hills, City-Line, East New York, Bedford-Stuyvesant, and Brownsville) Incumbent Democrat Martin Malave Dilan is running unopposed
  • 19th S.D. (East New York, Brownsville, Canarsie, Mill Basin, Marine Park, Sheepshead Bay) Incumbent Democrat Roxanne Persaud is running unopposed
  • 20th S.D. (Brownsville, Crown Heights, Gowanus, Park Slope, Sunset Park) – Incumbent Democrat Jesse Hamilton (who also has the Working Families and Independence Party lines) v. Republican/Conservative Menachem Raitport
  • 22nd S.D. (includes Bay Ridge, Dyker Heights, Bensonhurst, Gravesend, Manhattan Beach and Sheepshead Bay) – Incumbent Republican/Conservative Marty Golden (who also has the Independence and Reform Party lines) is unopposed
  • 23rd S.D. (includes Sunset Park, Dyker Heights, Bensonhurst, Gravesend, Coney Island and Brighton Beach) – Incumbent Democrat Diane Savino (who also has the Independence Party line) is unopposed
  • 25th S.D. (Bedford-Stuyvesant, Fort Greene, Clinton Hill, Boerum Hill, Carroll Gadens, Cobble Hill Sunset Park, Red Hook) – Incumbent Democrat Velmanette Montgomery (who also has the Working Families line) v. Republican Mamie Rose and Independence Party candidate Michael Cox


  • 41st A.D. (includes Sheepshead Bay, Midwood, Flatlands, Canarsie and East Flatbush) – Incumbent Democrat Helene Weinstein v. Republican Ramona Johnson
  • 42nd A.D. – (Flatbush, Ditmas Park, Midwood) – Incumbent Democrat Rodneyse Bichotte v. Republican Matthew Williams
  • 43rd A.D. (Crown Heights, Lefferts Garden) Incumbent Democrat Diana Richardson is running unoppossed
  • 44th A.D. (Park Slope, Windsor Terrace, Kensington, Ditmas Park) Democrat Robert Carroll v. Republican Glenn Nocera
  • 45th A.D. (Sheepshead Bay, Manhtattan Beach, Brighton Beach, Homecrest) Incumbent Democrat Steve Cymbrowitz v. Conservative Boris Gintchanski
  • 46th A.D. (includes Bay Ridge, Dyker Heights, Brighton Beach and Coney Island) – Incumbent Democrat Pamela Harris v. Republican Lucretia Regina-Potter (who also has the Reform Party line), Conservative Party candidate Mikhail Usher and Green Party candidate Patrick Dwyer.
  • 47th A.D. (includes Bath Beach, Bensonhurst and Gravesend) – Incumbent Democrat William Colton (who also has the Working Families Party line) v. Conservative Malka Shahar
  • 48th A.D. (Boro Park) Incumbent Democrat Dov Hikind is running unoppossed
  • 49th A.D. (includes Dyker Heights, Bath Beach and Bensonhurst) – Incumbent Democrat Peter Abbate (who also has the Working Families and Independence Party lines) v. Republican/Conservative Rosemary Mangino
  • 50th A.D. (Greenpoint, Williamsbug)  Incumbent Democrat Joseph Lentol is running unopposed
  • 51st A.D. (includes Sunset Park, Red Hook and Bay Ridge) – Incumbent Democrat Felix Ortiz v. Republican/Conservative Henry Lallave
  • 52nd A.D. (Brooklyn Heights, Dumbo, Boerum Hill, Cobble Hill Carroll Gardens0) Incumbent Democrat Jo Anne Simon v. Republican Daniel Ramos
  • 53rd A.D. (Williamsburg, Bushwick) Incumbent Democrat Maritza Davila is running unopposed
  • 54th A.D. (Bushwick) Incumbent Democrat Erik Dilan v. Khorshed Chowdhury
  • 55th A.D. (Brownsville, Bedford-Stuyvesant, Crown Heights, East Flatbush) Incumbent Democrat Latrice Walker v. Republican Berneda Jackson
  • 56th A.D. (Bedford-Stuyvesant) Democrat Tremaine Wright is running unopposed
  • 57th A.D. (Fort Greene, Clinton Hill, Crown Heights, Prospect Heights) Incumbent Democrat Walter Mosley is running unopposed
  •  58th A.D. (East Flatbush, Flatbush) Incumbent Democrat N. Nick Perry is running unopposed
  • 58th A.D. (Canarsie, Mill Basin, Marine Park) Incumbent Democrat Jaime Williams v. Republican  Jeffrey J. Ferretti
  • 60th A.D. (East New York) Incumbent Democrat Charles Barron v. Republican Ernest Johnson
  • 64th A.D. (Bay Ridge, Staten Island) Incumbent Republican Nicole Malliotakis is running unopposed

Judicial Seats

Supreme Court:

District 2

Six open seats
Mark I. Partnow (i) — Democratic and Conservative
Leon Ruchelsman (i) — Democratic and Conservative
Katherine A. Levine — Democratic and Conservative
Reginald A. Boddie — Democratic and Conservative
ShawnDya L. Simpson — Democratic and Conservative
Peter Sweeney — Democratic
Philip J. Smallman — Conservative

Kings County Civil Court


Three open seats
Dena E. Douglas (i) — Democratic
Vincent F. Martusciello — Conservative
John Meringolo — Reform
Odessa Kennedy — Democratic and Reform
Jacqueline D. Williams (i) — Democratic

Kings – 3rd District

Susan Quirk — Democratic

Kings – 5th District

Rachel Freier — Democratic
Morton Avigdor — Conservative and Independence